twitter @yogarobin108

Respiratory System, Breathing and Meditation

Entries in vishuddha chakra (1)


Chakras activated by breathing

Ashtanga Yoga breathing provides a gateway to each of the chakras, as the Prana travels from the first chakra at base of my spine and upward to the seventh chakra at the top of my skull. If I’m deeply connected to my subtle body, I’m transfixed and in a deep meditative state.

Each of the seven chakras of the Chakra System holds specific emotions and inclinations so getting in touch with one out of balance is not always a calming or enjoyable experience (but balance is the best end result).

I wrote a poem to each of my chakras.

Root chakra - Muladhara

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra) is about basic needs, security and survival.

“dear first chakra, i don’t know you or how you do it, but when i‘m not looking you trap me and hold me down. your arms are heaviness encapsulating me. but, when i feel you grounding me, each of my toes touch the floor at the same time and know their purpose.”

Too dominant: self-centered. Blocked: displaced anger and fear. Resides in hips, legs, lower back, sex organs (male).

Sacral chakra - Svadhishthana

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana Chakra) is about creativity and self-worth.

“dear second chakra, i want you to understand something. it isn’t me, it’s you. i need you. i don’t want you to leave ever. i want to eat you up. i need to keep you close.”

Too dominant: revolve around satisfying desires. Blocked: passions hide. Resides in lower back, sacrum, sex organs (female), kidneys, bladder, large intestine

Solar Plexus chakra - Manipura

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra) is about making things happen.

“dear third chakra, i have a hard time waiting as if impatience is my path to you. run to me as i run to you. please. i’ll meet you there. hurry. i’m waiting.”

Too dominant: always moving, not fulfilled. Blocked: low self-esteem and feel others control me. Resides in stomach, liver, gall bladder, pancreas, small intestine

Heart chakra - Anahata

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra) is about love and connecting to my heart.

“dear fourth chakra, with you i believe how precious the teardrop is. you feel me then. how could you not? i am full. i have been carrying the holes of you. i love you.”

Too dominant: emotional, frequent crying, alone. Blocked: apathetic about love but sense something missing, paranoid about love. Resides in heart, lungs, circulatory system, shoulders and upper back.

Throat chakra - Vishuddha

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra) is about communication and my inner voice.

“dear fifth chakra, do you know what i wish to say to you? how did you hear through my silent fog? it’s ok, i know how.”

Too dominant: too talkative, not truth. Blocked: will feel silenced, hiding, timid. Resides in throat, neck, teeth, ears, thyroid gland.

Third Eye chakra - Ajna

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra) is about intuition.

“dear sixth chakra, i know before you know. it’s a feeling. it’s knowledge. it’s truth. i would bet anything on it. circle back and find me.”

Too dominant: intuitions are my only path, not practice or realities. Blocked: won’t see perceptions, feel non-assertive and afraid of success. Resides in eyes, face, brain, lymphatic system, endocrine system.

Crown chakra - Sahasrara

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra) is my spiritual peak.

“dear seventh chakra, you are like the candle flame that always burns, the one i cannot tell is you or me or we.”

Too dominant: I prefer to float on a cloud of euphoria. Blocked: out of touch with spirit and frustrated. Resides in soul, spirit.